How I Wash My Makeup Brushes

Hey Belleza’s,

So in continuing my posts this week on makeup brushes. I thought I would share with you how I wash my makeup brushes.

HowIwashmybrushes

Good makeup brushes are not cheap. So we have to take care of them as much as possible, so that they can last a long time. Also, makeup brushes can harbor bacteria. Eww! We want to apply makeup to our face, not bacteria. So we have to keep them clean and clean them often.

By cleaning our brushes we are not only getting rid of any bacteria, we’re getting rid of old built up makeup, oils, germs, dirt, etc.

I won’t lie; I’m guilty of not washing my brushes as much as I should be doing. So, I can tell you from experience that using a dirty brush does not feel good, and it does not give you the same finish that a soft clean makeup brush would give.

It’s best to wash your brushes a minimum of once a week. Also, since they take a while to dry, it’s a good idea to wash them at night so that they’ll be ready to use when you get up the following morning. Or if you have time to wash them in the morning, that way they’ll have time to dry during the day.

Here is how I wash my brushes.

I thoroughly wet my bristles using lukewarm water, and then I take a gentle facial cleanser (Philosophy Purity Facial Cleanser) and pour a little into the palm of my hand.  I gently swirl the brush in the cleanser until it gets nice and lathery and then rinse the brush in lukewarm water. If my brushes are super dirty, then I may repeat the above steps until the water runs clear. Also, here is an extremely important tip. When washing your brushes make sure that you do not get water above the ferrule (metal part). If water gets into the ferrule it can cause the glue to loosen and can also cause the ferrule to rust, both of which can cause the bristles to fall out.

Once I’m done rinsing, I gently squeeze out the excess water with either my fingers or with a washcloth.  Now that the brushes are super clean the last step is drying them. Laying them flat on a dry towel or drying them upside down can either do this.

You may be wondering how you can dry your brushes upside down.  I recently stumbled upon something that is great for drying your brushes. Will be doing a separate post on that tomorrow.

In between deep cleaning it’s a good idea to spot treat your brushes.

I like to use antibacterial wipes (Wet Ones) for spot cleaning my brushes. Basically, I just take a wipe and swipe my brush on it back and forth. This gives the brush a quick clean and also helps to kill bacteria.

Oh and before I forget when cleaning your brushes don’t forget to clean the handles of your brushes. You can do that by simply wiping it down by putting some rubbing alcohol on a cotton ball.

Thanks for reading!

What are your techniques for washing your brushes?

Tomorrow I will be showing you what I dry my brushes with.

4 thoughts on “How I Wash My Makeup Brushes

  1. i felt guilty for not washing my brushes and sponge too but most of them are dirty becoz of foundation so i need something like brush cleanser or cleansing oil to remove them completely.nice post anyway 😀

Thank you for taking out the time to read my post. I really enjoy reading and responding to your comments, so please feel free to leave me a comment below.

